

847/391-4406 Fax: 847/375-1114

1600 Feehanville Dr Mount Prospect, IL 60056 help@nabp.pharmacy

TO: EXECUTIVE OFFICERS – STATE BOARDS OF PHARMACY

FROM: Lemrey "Al" Carter, Executive Director/Secretary

DATE: October 13, 2022

Nominations are currently being accepted for the following NABP Leadership Awards: 2023 Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award, 2023 Fred T. Mahaffey Award, 2023 Carmen A. Catizone Honorary President Award, and the 2023 John F. Atkinson Service Award. The awards presentation will take place at the NABP 119th Annual Meeting, May 10-12, 2023, at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel in Nashville, TN.

Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award

Originally known as the Distinguished Service Award, it was renamed by NABP to serve as a memorial to the 1990-1991 NABP President Lester E. Hosto, whose motivating presence in the practice of pharmacy was recognized by practitioners of his state, pharmacy leaders across the nation, and former United States President Bill Clinton.

This award is the highest honor bestowed by the Association. To be considered, nominees must meet the following criteria:

- exemplary effort to protect the public health, and
- strong commitment to furthering the goals and objectives of NABP.

Any individual who meets the criteria may be nominated for the Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award, regardless of their member affiliation with NABP.

Fred T. Mahaffey Award

This award was named after the late NABP Executive Director Emeritus Fred T. Mahaffey, who held the executive director position from 1962 to 1987. His leadership and contributions to NABP, state boards of pharmacy, and the protection of the public health were significant and established NABP as one of the leading pharmacy organizations.

This award is reserved for member boards of pharmacy. To be considered, the board of pharmacy must meet the following criteria:

- made substantial contributions to the regulation of the practice of pharmacy over the past year;
- contributed to protecting the public health and welfare through the enforcement of state and federal laws and regulations;

RE: Nominations for the 2023 NABP Leadership Awards to be presented at the NABP 119th Annual Meeting

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS – STATE BOARDS OF PHARMACY October 13, 2022 Page 2

- contributed to the advancement of NABP goals and objectives as specified in the Association's Constitution and Bylaws; and
- be an active or associate member board of pharmacy.

Carmen A. Catizone Honorary President Award

The award was renamed in 2020 to honor former NABP Executive Director/Secretary Carmen A. Catizone, who served the Association for 35 years. The award honors Catizone's unwavering leadership, commitment, and dedication to NABP and its mission of protecting the public health.

To be considered for the distinction of honorary president, nominees must meet the following criteria:

- service on at least one NABP committee or task force;
- participation in NABP/American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy District Meetings and NABP Annual Meetings;
- exemplary services for, or on behalf of, NABP;
- strong commitment to NABP, the mission of the Association to protect the public health, and the practice of pharmacy; and
- affiliation (either current or past) as a board member or as an administrative officer of an active or associate member board.

To submit a nomination for honorary president, you must be from an active or associate member board.

John F. Atkinson Service Award

This award was named in honor of the late John F. Atkinson, former NABP general counsel, who served the Association for more than 40 years.

To be considered, nominees must meet the following criteria:

- provided NABP with exemplary service in protecting the public health, and
- made exceptional accomplishments related to pharmacy law and compliance.

Nominations for these awards must be received at NABP Headquarters no later than December 31, 2022. Letters of nomination, along with a brief biography and current resume or curriculum vitae of the nominee, must include an account explaining why the nominee should be considered for an award.

An electronic nomination form is available on the NABP website via the following link: <u>https://nabp.pharmacy/nabp-leadership-awards/</u>.

The NABP Executive Committee will review the nominations and select the awards recipients. Nominations may be submitted via the form on the NABP website or to my attention via email at <u>ExecOffice@nabp.pharmacy</u> or via mail at NABP Headquarters, 1600 Feehanville Dr, Mount Prospect, IL 60056. For more information, please contact <u>ExecOffice@nabp.pharmacy</u>.